2017 Resolutions

This year I will do all the things.

  • Go to 50 yoga classes this year.
    • And buy a yoga mat!
    • And do yoga at home too!
    • Maybe only do yoga at home, because of save money goals.
  • Learn the violin.
  • Achieve the DMV.
    • Like, actually get my Hawai’i license.
    • But that involves going to the DMV.
      • The DMV is the worst.
    • Do I really need a Hawai’i license?
  • Take a surf lesson.
    • Or just rent a surfboard and try to surf.
    • And hopefully not drown.
  • Go scuba diving.
    • Maybe…?
    • But scuba diving is expensive.
    • 2018?
  • Go to Kaua’i.
  • Make a 4.0 my first semester of Library School.
  • Save $5000 by the end of the year.
    • Or at least open up a Savings Account.
  • Hike Pali Puka.
  • Hike Koko Head.
  • Hike to Manoa Falls.
  • Write a book this year.
    • Or at least a chapter?
      • Or maybe just an outline…
  • Read 57 books this year.
  • Practice the violin more this year.
  • Aprender más español.
  • Learn Hawaiian.
  • Weigh less than 100lbs for at least a few weeks.
    • I know, I know, it’s not healthy. “That’s too skinny!” Blah, blah, blah. But let’s be honest. When you’re a girl, that’s kind of the goal. When people think you’re so skinny they tell you to “eat a cheeseburger” or they say they’re “worried about you” that’s like, the girl dream. I just want to be too skinny for a few weeks in my life, and then I’ll go back to being an ice-cream gobbling, milkshake chugging chubster.
  • Go the the Legend of Zelda symphony orchestra performance.
  • Go see Bill Maher when he comes to Hawaii in 2017.
  • Go to more music things.
  • Learn a lot.

I know. Modest goals compared to 2016. But this year I will have less money and less time. I’m going to be working full time and be in graduate school full time. I’m going to be busy and have to stay focused on my education and career goals. And for 2017 at least, I’m staying still in Hawaii. I’m not moving again. And traveling back to the mainland or to another country is expensive. I’m going to go to Reykjavik and Zanzibar and Lascaux and San Morino and Barcelona and the Sea of Stars in the Maldives and to Fiji and Townsville in Queensland and to London and ALL the places. One day. But not in 2017
More personal, vague goals:

  • Be healthier in spirit.
  • Be more compassioanate
  • Feel safe.
  • Make friends.
  • Be more assertive and self-assured. Believe in myself, believe that I am worth something.
Leave a Reply

