Pele

I visited with Pele on Friday. She lives in the island of Hawai’i, what’s called the Big Island.


I stand in awe. What an incredible world, and how lucky I am that I have gotten to see so much of it in my short life.

I read the story of Pele, and forgive me for the comparison, I’m certainly no goddess, but she reminds me of me, just a bit.

Pele didn’t have a home, and she came to these islands searching for a place that could be. Learning that story sang to something in me. Everyone wants to go home. For some of us, it isn’t a place of our past but a place in our future.

I didn’t know what to offer to Pele, so I just thanked her for letting me visit her. I hope I can find home one day, too.

Leave a Reply

